CMMC Series Part 1: The Background & Timeline for 2021

Modified on: December 28, 2020

In This Article

  • Learn the differences between Federal Contract Information (FCI), Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI), and Controlled Technical Information (CTI) within the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) standard.
  • Figure out which CMMC Level you may be required to meet.
  • Get an up-to-date timeline for early 2021 CMMC assessment preparation.

General Overview of Types of Information and the Protection they Require

Federal Contract Information (FCI)

FCI is information that is not intended for public release but doesn’t meet the level of CUI-required protection. The current contractual obligation comes from the FAR clause 52.204-21.